Major Founders of Indian Anthropology

Followings are the 4 major founders of Indian Anthropology:

  1. Dhirendra Nath Majumdar (D. N. Majumdar) (1903-1960)
  2. Lalita Prasad Vidyarthi  (L. P. Vidyarthi) (1931 – 1985)
  3. Shyama Charan Dube (S.C. Dube) (1922 – 1996)
  4. Mysore Narasimhachar Srinivas (M. N. Srinivas) (1916–1999) 

These four anthropologists belong to the first-generation Anthropologists of India and trained by Europeans.

D. N. Majumdar (19031960)

  • D. N. Majumdar studies physical Anthropology.
  • He studies tribes, mainstream population and etc.
  • He also studies criminal tribes.
  • He studied the attitude of criminality.
  • He studied blood group relation with the tendency of crime.

S. C. Dube (1922–1996)

  • S C Dubey study rural anthropology.
  • He was the contemporary of Srinivas.
  • He had a political science background.
  • He was the chairperson of Community development programme review committee.

M. N. Srinivas (1916–1999) 

  • He study caste – written about caste.
  • He was the student of R. C. Brown.

B. R. Ambedkar

  • B. R. Ambedkar was an Anthropologist.
  • He had submitted papers on casteism anthropology.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.